Vehicle Registration Series

Vehicles in Maharashtra have been allocated registration series based on the area of location. This will help determine which RTO the vehicle is registered.

Below is the chart for your reference. MH stands for the state of Maharashtra, and the number after that indicates the location of the Road traffic office (RTO) where the vehicle is registered.

Similarly, other states in India have their own naming standard.

Vehicle Number Series Location City/District
MH-01 Mumbai (Central Location)
MH-02 Mumbai (West Location)
MH-03 Mumbai (East Location)
MH-04 Thane District
MH-05 Kalyan
MH-06 Pen Raigad District
MH-07 Sindhudurg
MH-08 Ratnagiri
MH-09 Kolhapur
MH-10 Sangli District
MH-11 Satara
MH-12 Pune City
MH-13 Solapur
MH-14 Pimpri Chinchwad
MH-15 Nashik
MH-16 Ahmednagar
MH-17 Shrirampur
MH-18 Dhule
MH-19 Jalgaon
MH-20 Aurangabad
MH-21 Jalna
MH-22 Parbhani
MH-23 Beed
MH-24 Latur
MH-25 Osmanabad
MH-26 Nanded
MH-27 Amravati
MH-28 Buldhana
MH-29 Yavatmal
MH-30 Akola
MH-31 Nagpur
MH-32 Wardha
MH-33 Gadchiroli
MH-34 Chandrapur
MH-35 Gondia
MH-36 Bhandara
MH-37 Washim
MH-38 Hingoli
MH-39 Nandurbar
MH-40 Nagpur Gramin
MH-41 Malegaon
MH-42 Baramati
MH-43 Vashi (Navi Mumbai)
MH-44 Ambajogai
MH-45 Akluj
MH-46 Panvel
MH-47 Borivali (Western Suburb of Mumbai)
MH-48 Virar (Extreme North End on Western Route of Mumbai, District Thane)
MH-49 Nagpur
MH-50 Kharad (Satara Rural)
MH-51 Nashik Rural

Leave a Reply